top of page

MEMENTO MORI Playing Cards

 

Memento Mori - "Remember Your Mortality"

 

Emerging from medieval Latin theory and practice, reflection on mortality has been a ubiquitous part of human culture for centuries. From philosophy to art, the fascination, fear, and appreciation of death has always captivated and fired our imaginations.

Many adherents of this theory carried artifacts or mementos to remind them that the only certainty in life is death. Many of these items were often objects (watches, necklaces) in the shape of skulls.

 

The low poly design is kept very simple. The bare "bones" of 3D creation and graphics, the first steps of animation can be interpreted as the beginning of "virtual" life.

 

Many historians believe that the playing cards had a deeper, more esoteric meaning, namely that each suit represented one of the four seasons. Each card within a suit represented one of the thirteen phases of the moon. The fifty-two cards in a deck represent the fifty-two weeks of the year, which together make up a whole year of life.

A constant reminder of our fleeting time on earth

MEMENTO MORI Playing Cards

€12.90Price
  • Final price plus shipping costs, no disclosure of VAT according to § 6 Para. 1 Z 27 UStG.

bottom of page

top of page

MEMENTO MORI Playing Cards

 

Memento Mori - "Erinnere dich an deine Sterblichkeit"

 

Die aus der mittelalterlichen lateinischen Theorie und Praxis hervorgegangene Reflexion über die Sterblichkeit ist seit Jahrhunderten ein allgegenwärtiger Bestandteil der menschlichen Kultur. Von der Philosophie bis zur Kunst hat die Faszination, die Angst und die Wertschätzung des Todes unsere Vorstellungskraft immer wieder gefesselt und beflügelt.

Viele Anhänger dieser Theorie trugen Artefakte oder Andenken bei sich, die sie daran erinnerten, dass das einzig Sichere im Leben der Tod ist. Bei vielen dieser Gegenstände handelte es sich oft um Objekte (Uhren, Halsketten) in Form von Totenköpfen.

 

Das Low-Poly-Design ist sehr einfach gehalten. Die nackten "Knochen" der 3D-Kreation und Grafik, die ersten Schritte der Animation können als Beginn des "virtuellen" Lebens interpretiert werden.

 

Viele Historiker glauben, dass die Spielkarten eine tiefere, esoterische Bedeutung hatten, nämlich dass jede Farbe eine der vier Jahreszeiten darstellte. Jede Karte innerhalb einer Farbe stand für eine der dreizehn Mondphasen. Die zweiundfünfzig Karten eines Decks stehen für die zweiundfünfzig Wochen des Jahres, die zusammen ein ganzes Lebensjahr ausmachen.

Eine ständige Erinnerung an unsere flüchtige Zeit auf der Erde

MEMENTO MORI Playing Cards

€12.90Preis
  • Endpreis zzgl. Versandkosten, keine Ausweisung der Mehrwertsteuer gemäß § 6 Abs. 1 Z 27 UStG.

bottom of page